reklama

Green people in a white world

Rada by som skusila pisat po slovensky ale bohuzial moja slovencina ne je taka dobra aspon pre intelektualne debaty.

Písmo: A- | A+
Diskusia  (10)

Frankly speaking I was not so sure that SME would allow a blog in English. But I thought I would try it because I believe in diversity and I am tired of being asked the eternal five questions that people have when they realize I am not Slovak. You see there are plenty of foreigners in Slovakia, and you would be surprised to find out that those posh general managers of multinational companies who live in comfortable villas near Slavin and spend the weekends in Vienna, shopping, are only a minority. There are plenty of foreigners sharing ordinary flats in panelaky. They look ordinary, just mumble a bit when challenged to use Slovak. Each of them has her/his own reasons to be here. I would like to talk about them.

SkryťVypnúť reklamu
Článok pokračuje pod video reklamou

And now if you are curious what are those “eternal five questions” I was talking about earlier, here they are:

1) Where are you from?---followed by interviewer’s comments about her/his personal experience with my native country, eventually additional questions about politics and economics there

2) So you spent some time in America and then came back to Slovakia?!!!Pane boze, why? (I am not American, by the way)---I haven’t come up with any satisfactory answer yet.

3) How often do you travel home?—followed by “Aren’t your parents missing you?” this is more often asked by what you call “vyhodniari” who still miss Presov or Kosice and feel Bratislava is at the other end of the globe

SkryťVypnúť reklamu
reklama

4) How did you learn Slovak?---followed by “It’s a difficult language, isn’t it?

5) Are you married?---I don’t really understand why I get this question.

Some ask how do I like Slovakia, other just suppose that I must like it very much if I came back to live here after spending some time in the States and England…a to sa nedaJ

The answer for this question is a longer one therefore I will use this blog to give it.

Anca Dragu

Anca Dragu

Bloger 
  • Počet článkov:  44
  •  | 
  • Páči sa:  2x

Ja som ja, a staci. Preco pisem po anglicky? Pretoze neviem dobre po slovensky ale mozno ze zacinam pisat' aj po slovensky na buduce:)I write in English as my Slovak is not good enough but maybe I start writing in Slovak soon. Zoznam autorových rubrík:  NezaradenáSocietyBusinessSportPoliticsSúkromné

Prémioví blogeri

Post Bellum SK

Post Bellum SK

75 článkov
Matúš Sarvaš

Matúš Sarvaš

3 články
Pavol Koprda

Pavol Koprda

10 článkov
Martina Hilbertová

Martina Hilbertová

49 článkov
Juraj Karpiš

Juraj Karpiš

1 článok
reklama
reklama
SkryťZatvoriť reklamu